Hall of Honor

The purpose of the Strake Jesuit Athletics Hall of Honor is to serve as a means of maintaining the rich heritage and tradition of the Crusader athletic program. In addition, it will serve as a means of recognizing, preserving, and honoring the athletes, coaches, individuals, and teams that made significant contributions to the athletic program.

Exciting (and Historic) New Class Elected to Strake Jesuit Athletic Hall of Honor

Three outstanding individual athletes, and one historic team, will join the previous 47 inductees of the Strake Jesuit Athletic Hall of Honor as members of this years' induction class. Entering the Hall of Strake Jesuit's most accomplished athletes throughout the years are Bill McShane '77, Andre Gray '81, Sam MacNaughton '87, and the 2008-2009 Basketball Team.

List of 4 items.

  • Bill McShane '77

    Bill McShane '77 was the star of Jesuit's first two ever State Championship teams, and a two-time All-State selection for the Crusader Basketball team.  The two-time co-captain, lettered 4 years as a power-forward and center, and earned numerous awards, including All-District and All-State honors. His junior year, the 6'8 McShane averaged a double-double with 13.6 points and 12.1 rebounds per game, then dominated his senior year by averaging 22.2 points and 13.8 rebounds a game while maintaining a 59% field goal percentage for the Crusaders en route to a second consecutive state championship. McShane went on to play 4 years at Oregon State University for Hall of Fame coach, Ralph Miller, where he and his 1980-81 OSU Beaver teammates went 26-2, spending 9 weeks ranked at the #1 team in the nation. McShane and the team are featured in the State of Oregon Sports Hall of Fame. 
  • Andre Gray '81

    Andre Gray '81 was a three-sport athlete at Jesuit in track, football, and basketball. He excelled as a sprinter on the track, where he was All-American and All-State both his junior and senior years, and All-District his sophomore year. Gray also played both Wide Receiver on offense and Free Safety on defense for the Crusader football team, leading the team in touchdown receptions his senior year, while earning All-State honors, after All-District recognition his junior year. During the winters, Gray also played for the Fighting Crusader basketball team, earning Honorable Mention All-State accolades his senior year on the hardwood. After Strake Jesuit, Gray went on to play football all 4 years at UT-Arlington, which was Division-1 at the time, and upon graduating managed to land free agent contracts for the NFL's Washington Redskins and the CFL's Saskatchewan Roughriders. Gray would later go on to coach a new generation of athletes at Strake Jesuit from 1992-2002.
  • Sam MacNaughton '87

    Sam MacNaughton '87 becomes the first golfer inducted into the Strake Jesuit Hall of Honor after winning the TCIL State Championship in 1987 and being named All-State 3 times while at Strake Jesuit. MacNaughton is Strake Jesuit's all-time leader in golf tournament wins, is tied for the lowest regular season round, and still maintains Strake Jesuit's 3rd lowest career average on the links. MacNaughton went on to star for NCAA golf powerhouse, Oklahoma State University. He is still connected to the game, currently working as an agent representing professional golfers on the PGA Tour. 
  • 2008-2009 Basketball Team

    The 2008-2009 Basketball Team, coached by Wayne Jones, posted an historic 37-1 record on their way to a UIL 5A State Semi-Final appearance and a national ranking. With current NBA player, Tim Frazier '09 being named to the UIL State Tournament 1st Team, and future Notre Dame standout and current Nicholls State Assistant Coach, Joey Brooks '09 leading the way, the Crusaders averaged nearly 66 points a game, defeating opponents by an average margin of 17.6 points a game. The team also featured stars Ryan Dunbar '09 (8.5 ppg), Steven Rogers '09 (40% 3FG%), Wes Williams '09 (4.7 rpg), and many other solid performers. The team enjoyed great fan support throughout the year, and led to the rechristening of the Strake Jesuit student section as "Ignatian Nation."
The incoming members of the Athletic Hall of Honor will be inducted during a special dinner and ceremony on campus at our annual Strake Jesuit Night of Honor.

Past Hall of Honor Inductees

List of 12 items.

  • 2008 Inaugural Class

    Mike Janda '69 - Athlete
    Mike Novelli '75 - Athlete
    Eric Mullins '80 - Athlete
    Chris Darkins '92 - Athlete
    1976 Football Team - Team
    Br. Casey Ferlita, SJ - Distinguished Individual
  • 2009 Class

    Ralph Sacra '69 - Athlete
    Steve McConnell '78 † - Athlete
    Bil McArdle - Distinguished Individual
    1976-77 Soccer Team - Team
  • 2010 Class

    Tommy Nolen - Coach
    George Bean '81 - Athlete
    Corey Davis '90 - Athlete
    Bob Pilegge - Distinguished Individual
  • 2011 Class

    Nelson Akwari '00 - Athlete
    Bret Broussard '76 - Athlete
    Jake Voskuhl '96 - Athlete
    Dick Janse † - Coach 
  • 2012 Class

    Patrick Devine '78 - Athlete
    Bill O'Brien '78 - Athlete
    1977 Mile Relay Team - Team
    (Ira Lucas, Tyrone Donahoe, Alan Bergeron, and Bryant Newbill)
    1998 Baseball Team - Team
  • 2013 Class

    Ray Albrecht '72 - Athlete
    John "Bumper" Schiro '80 - Athlete
    1995-96 Basketball Team - Team
    Jerry Martinez - Coach
  • 2014 Class

    Jason Cimineri '96 - Athlete
    Chris Ogbonnaya '04 - Athlete
    Frank Scalise '71 -Athlete
    Bob Collett - Coach
  • 2015 Class

    Stuart Davies '88 - Athlete
    Broderick Hicks '98 - Athlete
    Steven Hogan '03 - Athlete
    Fred Viancos '80 - Athlete
    1982 4 x 800 Relay Team - Team
    (George Bean, Philip Franshaw, Franciso Melendez, and Scott Lucas)
  • 2016 Class

    Ricky Gras '77 - Athlete
    Craig Gilcrease '82 - Athlete
    Michael LeBlanc '96 - Athlete
    Jamie LaRochelle - Coach
  • 2017 Class

    David Howe '66 - Athlete
    Garth Jax '82 - Athlete
    Steve Rowe '98 - Athlete
    Colin Matheny '02 - Athlete
  • 2018 Class

    Don Blair '69 - Athlete
    Kent Mayes '78 - Athlete
    Stephen Nijoka '07 - Athlete
    1992 Soccer Team - Team
  • 2019 Class

    Bill McShane '77 - Athlete
    Andre Gray '81 - Athlete
    Sam MacNaughton '87 - Athlete
    2009 Basketball Team - Team

Nominate an Athlete

The nominations for ever year's Hall of Honor inductees come from our amazing Strake Jesuit community. If you have an alumni athlete in mind that deserves nomination, please fill out the form below. Alumni must be graduated a minimum of 10 years to be inducted into the Hall of Honor.

Your Information

Active Nominees

This is a list of current, active nominees for the Strake Jesuit Athletic Hall of Honor. As stated in the Hall of Honor by-laws, an athlete, team, coach, or distinguished individual who has been nominated and not selected for induction into the Hall of Honor after five (5) years of their nomination is removed from consideration but can be nominated again for consideration. 

Individual Athletes


Bill Arnold ‘66
Mark Berggren ‘81
Jim Branda ‘69
Justin Douglas ‘03
Abe Garcia '94
Carey Ford '93
Tim Frazier '09
Nicolas Jean-Baptiste '07
Scott Lester ‘81
Burke O’Malley ‘84
Marc Polansky ‘70
John Posey ‘74
Andrew Taylor ‘84
1967 Basketball Team
1977 Football Team
1980 Football Team
1985 Distance Medley Relay Team
1988 Basketball Team
2000 Baseball Team
2001-2002 Basketball Team
2008 Football Team